,

Pioneer Courthouse

SITE INFO


The Washington county seat hasn’t always been in St. George! It was first in New Harmony, 45 miles northeast, and then in 1863 it moved to St. George. Three years later construction began on a courthouse, and in 1876 it was completed.

Miles Romney, who supervised construction on both the St. George temple and tabernacle, also oversaw the construction of the courthouse. The basement was used as a jailhouse, the first floor as offices, and the second floor was a courtroom. When it wasn’t being used as a courtroom it was used as a schoolroom.

Some of the unique features of the courthouse include original paintings of Zion National Park and the Grand Canyon, chandeliers, 18 inch thick interior walls, and a security vault. The courthouse is open for tours.


  • Hours

    Mon-Thu 9am-5pm
    Fri 9am-4pm

  • Cost

    Free

CONTACT DETAILS



WHAT’S NEARBY


YOU MIGHT FIND THIS INTERESTING TOO…


, ,

Falls Park – Sheep Bridge – Virgin, UT

FALLS PARK – SHEEP BRIDGE – VIRGIN, UT


Location: South side of Virgin River, just off Sheep Bridge Road, Virgin, UT

SITE INFO


Falls Park (Sheep Bridge to the locals) was established by the BLM to accommodate the growing number of people visiting the popular swimming and tubing area of the Virgin River. There is about a mile stretch of river that can be enjoyed, with sandy beaches, fun tubing rapids and even places to jump off the rocks into the river. Be sure to always check the depth of the water before jumping in! Because of the nature of the Virgin River, and its flood cycles, there may be sand and other debris under the water that are not visible. There is fun to be had by all ages at this park. Small children can catch frogs and splash in shallow parts of the river, older children can ride the rapids and swim, and adults can get in on the fun as well! Check this park out!

Sheep Bridge was originally built by Allen Stout, who was a sheep herder. It was used to move the sheep back and forth across the river to other grazing. For many years, the bridge was an old, one lane bridge, barely wide enough for a large truck to pass. In the year 2000, Utah Department of Transportation built the current bridge that is much wider and more stable. The old bridge still remains just to the east of the new bridge.


  • Hours

    8:00 a.m. – Dusk

  • Cost

    Free

CONTACT DETAILS


  • Distance from St George

    27 miles (36 mins drive time)

  • Driving Directions

    Drive toward Virgin, UT. As you start coming into town from the west, Sheep Bridge Rd will be on your right. Follow the road for 1/2 mile and cross over the bridge. The entrance gate to the park will be immediately on your left.


WHAT’S NEARBY


,

Harrisburg Ghost Town

HARRISBURG GHOST TOWN


Address: Located on Old Hwy 91 between Leeds and St George

SITE INFO


Originally Harrisburg was settled in 1859 under the name Harrisville after Moses Harris. The town was located where Quail Creek Reservoir is now located, but due to flooding the town moved up the creek. By 1892 the town’s population, for the most part, had moved away because of flooding, grasshopper plauges, and Indian raids. Now a ghost town, the last remains of a few stone pioneer homes are all that stand as a memorial to the town of Harrisburg.


  • Cost

    Free


CONTACT DETAILS


  • Location

    On Old Hwy 91 between Leeds and St George.

  • Distance from St George

    14 miles (20 mins driving)

YOU MIGHT FIND THIS INTERESTING TOO…



Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405

Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405
,

Jacob Hamblin Home

JACOB HAMBLIN HOME


Address: 3325 Hamblin Dr, Santa Clara, UT 84765
Phone: (435) 673-2161
Website: www.lds.org/locations/jacob-hamblin-home?lang=eng&_r=1


SITE INFO


In the 1800’s Jacob Hamblin was called to Southern Utah as a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to the Paiute Indians. His home, located in Santa Clara, Utah, near St. George, is now a historic site where guided tours are offered to learn more about Jacob being a “friend to the Indians”, and life in a frontier town. This beautiful historic property and home is a great spot to learn more about this piece of Southern Utah’s history.


  • Hours

    Winter (October 7th – April 5th)
    Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

    Summer (April 6th – October 6th)
    Open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

  • Cost

    Free


Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405

Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405
,

Brigham Young Winter Home

BRIGHAM YOUNG WINTER HOME


Address: 67 West 200 North, St. George, Utah 84770
Phone: (435) 673-2517
Website: www.lds.org/locations/brigham-young-winter-home?lang=eng&_r=1


SITE INFO


The Brigham Young home was a winter home to the 2nd prophet of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Built in the late 1800’s Brigham Young spent the last winters of his life here. He oversaw the building of the Temple and Tabernacle during this time. It is now a historic home and museum where guided tours are offered and sits beautifully among other historic homes and buildings in the area.


  • Hours

    9:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

    The last tour starts at 6:30 p.m.

  • Cost

    Free


CONTACT DETAILS



WHAT’S NEARBY


,

Pioneer Encampment Mall

PIONEER ENCAMPMENT MALL


Physical Address: 225 S 700 E, St George, UT 84770


SITE INFO


The Encampment Mall, which is located on the campus of Dixie State University, is where the first Mormon pioneers camped when they arrived in St. George in 1861 to settle and grow cotton in the desert. They were the first of hundreds of families who were called by Brigham Young to come and settle in this area. It was under harsh conditions that the early pioneers endured to build what we now enjoy in this beautiful city. The Encampment Mall has a monument to honor these men and women along with beautiful landscape and statues depicting these early pioneers.

It is fitting that Dixie State University is built on this site, because one of the first things they did after setting up camp was establish a place for education to begin. Children were gathered around and taught reading, writing and arithmetic.


  • Hours

    Campus is open during daylight hours

  • Cost

    Free


CONTACT DETAILS


  • Address

    Physical Address: 225 S 700 E, St George, UT 84770

  • Distance from St George

    Located Downtown St George


WHAT’S NEARBY


Fort Pearce

FORT PEARCE


Address: Fort Pearce, St George, UT 84790
Phone: (435) 688-3200
Website: http://wchsutah.org/geography/fort-pearce.php

SITE INFO


Fort Pearce was built during the Black Hawk War, a period of conflict with the Ute Indians, from 1865-1868. The 8 foot structure without roof was built to protect settlements and livestock from Indian raids. Next to the fort a large corral was built to hold in their cattle so they wouldn’t destroy the crops. The fort was built by a spring and wash and years after the fort was abandoned it served as a watering spot for travelers and their stock. There are still remains of the fort and is a historic place.

Directions:

From Warner Valley Exit

  • Head East on Warner Valley Road
  • Paved road ends and turns to dirt road
  • Continue for about 5.5 miles and turn right
  • The parking area is about 500 ft ahead
  • Walk up to the Fort

  • Hours

    Daylight Hours

  • Cost

    Free

CONTACT DETAILS



WHAT’S NEARBY


Places to Stay

Places to Eat

Places to Eat Dessert


Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405

Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405

Tuacahn Amphitheatre

TUACAHN AMPHITHEATRE


Physical Address: 1100 North Tuacahn Dr, Ivins, UT 84738
Box office: (800)746-9882 or (435) 652-3300
Website: www.tuacahn.org

           


SITE INFO


In 1995 this 2,000 seat outdoor amphitheater, with a stunning Ivins red rock canyon in the background, debuted its first musical, UTAH! Since that time, Tuacahn has been the stage for professional broadway hit musicals such as Beauty and the Beast, Fiddler on the Roof, The Little Mermaid and many more. Each year Tuacahn brings to their stage new plays that run from May to October. Watching these productions in a unique venue combined with top notch sets, acting, and music is a Southern Utah experience you won’t ever forget. On top of stage productions Tuacahn also hosts concerts of a wide variety from artists such as Martina McBride, Colbie Caillat, Gladys Knight and others. Tuacahn is worth experiencing!


  • Hours

    On Season: 9am-Showtime
    Off Season: 10am-4pm
    Saturday: 9am-1pm
  • Cost

    $$$


CONTACT DETAILS


  • Box Office

    (800)746-9882 or (435) 652-3300

  • Address

    Physical Address: 1100 North Tuacahn Dr, Ivins, UT 84738

  • Distance from St George

    9.5 miles (approx 18 mins)


Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405
,

St George LDS Temple

ST GEORGE LDS TEMPLE


Address:250 East 400 South, St. George, UT 84770
Phone: (435) 673-5181 (Visitor Center)
Website: https://www.lds.org/church/temples/st-george-utah?lang=eng


SITE INFO


Standing in the middle and tall above all other buildings in St. George is the temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Early Mormon pioneers who settled St. George built the temple which was dedicated in 1877. It’s beautiful white architecture among the red rocks of Southern Utah is stunning and has been a beacon of light, faith and hope to many for 140 years. All are welcome to walk around it’s gardens and learn more at its visitors center located next to the temple.

Amenities: Visitor Center, Restrooms, Drinking Fountains, Religious/Historical Information

Check out these sites for more info:
https://www.lds.org/locations/st-george-utah-temple-visitors-center?lang=eng&_r=1
https://www.lds.org/church/temples/st-george-utah?lang=eng
http://www.ldschurchtemples.com/stgeorge/


  • Hours

    7:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.

  • Cost

    Free


CONTACT DETAILS


  • Phone

    (435) 673-5181 (Visitor Center)

  • Website

    https://www.lds.org/church/temples/st-george-utah?lang=eng

  • Address

    Address: 250 East 400 South, St. George, UT, 84770

  • Distance from St George

    Located downtown St George


WHAT’S NEARBY


Little Jamaica

LITTLE JAMAICA


Address: Dessert Springs aka Little Jamaica aka Littlefield Springs, Littlefield, AZ 86432

SITE INFO


Little Jamaica or Littlefield Springs is in Littlefield Arizona, a 30 minute drive from St. George. It is a little oasis along the Virgin River that comes from a mountain spring into a man made pool. There are small waterfalls and is a nice cool setting among the desert landscape. To get to the pool it is about a .25 mile hike from the trailhead and can be a little slippery and is next to the interstate and can be a little noisy because of the traffic. This little oasis is a fun place to go especially during the summer months!

Check out these sites for more info:
https://backcountrypost.com/threads/little-jamaica.5124/
http://mesquitelocalnews.com/2014/09/hey-mon-try-little-jamaica/
http://www.dixiesunnews.com/articles/2013/09/12/little-jamaica/


  • Hours

    Daylight Hours

  • Cost

    Free

CONTACT DETAILS


  • Address

    Address: Dessert Springs aka Little Jamaica aka Littlefield Springs, Littlefield, AZ 86432

  • Distance from St George

    28 miles


WHAT’S NEARBY


Places to Stay

Places to Eat

Places to Eat Dessert

Glitter Mountain

GLITTER MOUNTAIN


Address: Old Gypsum Crystal Mine, Littlefield, AZ 86432

SITE INFO


Glitter mountain as it is sometimes called The Old Gypsum Mine, or Sparkle Mountain, and is about a 25 minute drive from St. George and is just across the Arizona border. The mountain is more like a mound of dirt that is covered in pieces of gypsum that glitters when the sun is shining and then a large pit where you can find the gypsum. You can hammer out from the side of the hill chunks of the clear flakey mineral and there is plenty of smaller pieces on the ground for smaller children. This is a fun and interesting outing especially for kids!

Directions:

From Warner Valley Exit

  • Head East on Warner Valley Road
  • Take the first Right onto the dirt frontage road
  • Continue South for about 3 miles to a fork in the road
  • Stay to the Left and continue 1 mile to another fork in the road
  • Turn Right and cross over the dry wash
  • Continue South for .7 miles to another fork in the road
  • Stay Left. This will be Sunshine Trail Rd
  • Continue on Sunshine Trail Rd for 1 mile and Glitter Mountain will be on the Right!

Check out these sites for more info:
https://www.stgeorgeutah.com/news/archive/2015/02/15/no-filter-all-that-glitters-dig-it-at-sparkle-mountain/
http://www.saltproject.co/blog/glitter-mountain-updated-new-map-st-george-roadtrippin


  • Hours

    Daylight Hours

  • Cost

    Free

CONTACT DETAILS


  • Address

    Address: Old Gypsum Crystal Mine, Littlefield, AZ 86432

  • Distance from St George

    Approximately 13 miles


WHAT’S NEARBY



Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405

Notice: Undefined index: index in /home/hikest5/public_html/wp-content/themes/enfold/config-templatebuilder/avia-shortcodes/buttons_fullwidth.php on line 405

Pioneer Park

PIONEER PARK


Address: Red Hills Pkwy, St George, UT 84770
Phone: (435) 627-4530
Website: www.sgcity.org/parkstrailsandcemetery/cityparks/pioneerpark


SITE INFO


Since the days of the first settlers to the area, St. George has been called Utah’s Dixie. On what is sometimes called “the sugarloaf” lies the word “DIXIE” in bold white letters on our red rock as the background. These red rocks make St. George unique and attract people from all over the world. The Dixie Red Rock is located above the city of St. George in what is known as Pioneer Park and offers beautiful views of the city and the surrounding area. Hiking and climbing are favorites here and the park includes picnic tables and a pavillion that allows for BBQing. If you are visiting St. George this is a must see!

Amenities: BBQ, Covered Pavillion, Drinking Fountains, Hiking, Parking, Picnic Tables, Restrooms, Reservable, Trailhead, and Walking Path.

Check out these sites for more info:
http://things2doinutah.com/pioneer-park-dixie-rock-st-george/
https://intermountainhealthcare.org/services/wellness-preventive-medicine/live-well/move-well/healthy-hikes/easy-hikes/pioneer-park/


  • Hours

    7:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.

  • Cost

    Free


CONTACT DETAILS



WHAT’S NEARBY