The Washington county seat hasn’t always been in St. George! It was first in New Harmony, 45 miles northeast, and then in 1863 it moved to St. George. Three years later construction began on a courthouse, and in 1876 it was completed.
Miles Romney, who supervised construction on both the St. George temple and tabernacle, also oversaw the construction of the courthouse. The basement was used as a jailhouse, the first floor as offices, and the second floor was a courtroom. When it wasn’t being used as a courtroom it was used as a schoolroom.
Some of the unique features of the courthouse include original paintings of Zion National Park and the Grand Canyon, chandeliers, 18 inch thick interior walls, and a security vault. The courthouse is open for tours.